Chesapeake Bay Commission

The Chesapeake Bay Commission is a tri-state legislative advisory group created in 1980 and composed of 21 legislators, executive branch appointees and citizens from Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania. The purpose of the commission is to advise the state legislatures on matters of concern regarding the restoration and management of Chesapeake Bay. The commission is also a signatory to the 1987 Chesapeake Bay Agreement along with the governors of Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania, the mayor of the District of Columbia and the administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency. In that capacity, the commission is obligated to move forward initiatives of the multi-jurisdictional Chesapeake Bay Program.
Category: Water
Interstate Agency: Chesapeake Bay Commission

Member States

Click a state to view its list of compacts
State Citation Year Of Joinder
Maryland MD. [Nat. Res.] Code Ann. Sec. 8-301 1980
Pennsylvania 32 P.S. Sec. 820.11, 820.12 1985
Virginia Code 1950, Secs. 62.1-69.5 to 62.1-69.20 1980