Colorado River Compact

Apportions the waters of the Colorado River Basin. Con¬gress authorized seven states in 1921 to negotiate the compact. Six of them ratified the compact promptly, but Arizona did not join until 1944. An amendment was adopted in 1925 to waive the requirement that all seven states approve. Congress accepted the revision in the 1928 Boulder Canyon Project Act, which however, re¬quired California's approval. California approved the amended compact in 1929.
Category: Water
Interstate Agency: Colorado River Commission
Agency Website:

Full Text PDF: View PDF

Member States

Click a state to view its list of compacts
State Citation Year Of Joinder
Arizona A.R.S. Sec. 45-1311 1944
California CA GOVT § 176 1922
Colorado C.R.S. Secs. 37-61-101 to 37-61-104 1925
Congress 45 Stat. 1057-64 1928
Nevada NRS 538.010, 538.041-538.251 1925
New Mexico NMSA 1978 Secs. 72-15-5 to 72-15-9 1923
Utah U.C.A. 1953, 73-12a-1 to 73-12a-3 1929
Wyoming W.S. Secs. 41-12-301, 41-12-302 1925