Interstate Compact on Agricultural Grain Marketing

Establishes a commission to promote exporting American produced grain (e.g., wheat, durum, spelt, oats, rye, corn, barley, buckwheat, flaxseed, safflower, sunflower seed, soybeans, sorghum grains peas, and beans). Any U.S. state in which agricultural grains are produced for markets of the nation and world is eligible to belong to this compact. Congressional consent is not required. The status of this compact is unclear. At least four states repealed a version of it between 1995 and 1998, Iowa, Nebraska, New Mexico, and Wyoming. The legislation that repealed the compact also repealed its interstate administrative commission as well.
Category: Agriculture

Member States

Click a state to view its list of compacts
State Citation Year Of Joinder
Colorado C.R.S. Secs. 24-60-2001 to 24-60-2006 1979
Kansas K.S.A. 2-3101 1979