Interstate Earthquake Emergency Compact

The compact provides mutual aid among the states in meeting emergencies or disasters caused by earthquakes or other seismic disturbance. The compact directs the party states to develop earthquake relief plans and programs; inventory materials and equipment that would be available for relief efforts; maintain a databank of regional resources that might be needed and share the data with other party states. It also addresses reciprocal licensing authorization for people rendering aid, immunity from liability, compensation, reimbursement and evacuation. All states are eligible. The compact becomes effective when enacted by two states.
Category: Public Safety

Full Text PDF: View PDF

Member States

Click a state to view its list of compacts
State Citation Year Of Joinder
Indiana IC 10-4-3-1 1990
Mississippi Code 1972, Sec. 27-107-301 1989
Missouri RSMo Sec. 256.155 1989
Tennessee T.C.A. Sec. 58-2-701 1988